California Firefighters Keep Getting Injured During Training. Some Have Died

Hey all, first time long time. I’m a science journalist with LAist and KPCC in LA. Been covering wildfires for a bit. Wanted to share our investigation that we published today, as I think it’ll be of interest to this crowd and generate some discussion.

In short: Over the last year and a half, almost four dozen Cal Fire firefighters have suffered from heat illness during training, and since 2003 five have died.

We identify three systemic issues that are driving the problem.

Here’s the link.

If you want to talk about something privately, including if you can relate to anything we share in the article, we speak with people on background all the time. My signal is 323-989-2982.

5 Likes

Wow. I was skeptical as I started reading but once I got into it I was really impressed.

There is so much wrong with a culture of pushing it just for the sake of pushing it. There isn’t a minimum standard for calfire? When I was applying I thought I remember them wanting my CPAT certificate- but maybe that was just icing not a cake. That being said the cpat isn’t a good indicator of the proper physique for wildland, but it’s something. The NWCG pack test was a bit of a joke - I’ve seen plenty of people pass it that have no business out on the line. Do you have any such data or interest in feds? Might be a worthwhile comparison.

2 Likes

CPAT is for all positions except Firefighter I (seasonal)

2 Likes

Thanks for reading and commenting. Absolutely interested in hearing from different folks about a wide variety of experiences across agencies. We don’t have data for USFS. We just focused on Cal Fire for this one.

As 2ndLine mentioned, CPAT is not required for seasonals, but as you pointed out, it’s not a great indicator of wildland performance. About 80 percent of people that take it in CA pass it. But no one test seems to be perfect.