Inmate Fatalities in CA

Hi all,

I am a journalist working on an article regarding California’s inmate fire camps. We are looking for information regarding inmate fatalities while fighting wildfires in the state, as far back as 1946.

We’ve checked most state and federal databases (USFA, NIFC, NFFF, etc) but I wanted to ask you all if you had ideas of where we should look to find more?

We’re also looking to speak with anyone who was in the Conservation Camp program or an attached CAL FIRE unit at the time of an inmate fatality, especially prior to 2016. Specifically, we’re want to identify an unknown death in 2000 or 2001 and a confirm an August, 2003 death in Riverside County.

Anything will help!

Thanks,
Ryan

Try looking for the green sheet. It’s a report on what happened if there was something serious that happened on a incident. Cal Fire puts them out after the investigation is completed.

1 Like

Disclaimer. I am not validating the accuracy of the contents of this article, just sharing names to assist.

This one will require some research. Send me a direct message if you need more information.

This involved a paid crew not inmates. LA County Camp 2 is a fly crew.

Thanks for correction.

1 Like

@ryanharvey

A Google search does not pop you or a team up as a journalist. Care to indulge us on your status, intentions and qualifications?

1 Like

Thanks all, appreciate your help.

Kman, not sure how Google’s algorithm works on your end, but a quick search on The Nation’s website will pull up my bio with them: https://www.thenation.com/authors/ryan-harvey/

You can find my work covering the Conservation Camps here: https://truthout.org/articles/climate-change-meets-mass-incarceration-californias-incarcerated-firefighters/