Private resources call out frustration

Every year as a fire contractor I struggle with the when are they or why are they not calling me? How do you guys deal with this?

So it’s July in Northern California. The Dozeris loaded and chained down. New battery’s in all the radios. Shake n bake Shelters are in place. Got shoe polish for my soon to be E number. Coolers with water and gatoraid some MRE’s and beef jerky. Red bags loaded and at the door 1FD7B14F-CBB2-4A07-81F1-BE618E3A181B
Ok so I’m chompin at the bit here. Watching WildfireIntel and http://www.fire.ca.gov/about/hiredequipment/HiredEquipRotation like a hawk. We are having a very early start this year and have had many fires around us (Red Bluff CA) yet it seems the list isn’t rolling much.
I know I know just wait it’s coming.

So how do you guys deal with it? Private and Agency guys and gals?

On edit I have been doing this for 5 seasons now it’s just frustrating

Thanks in advance
Steve

1 Like

The state still needs to have more draw down of resources. Still plenty of state and fed resources available. It will pick up I’m sure.

1 Like

Maybe this is not going to win me any friends but I don’t understand the business model of having a dozer for fire only in the summertime. I know it pays well but work is not guaranteed and you are always at the risk of being sent home for some silly thing or other by some cranky manager or a breakdown taking too long to continue on the fire. It seems like with the economy picking up you could be out doing construction? At least in construction if you break down you call a mechanic, he fixes it and you continue with the job. Help me understand how this works, don’t worry, I am not going to go buy a dozer and compete.